life

Handling pressure and stress


I am a software developer. Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night not because I’m an owl per say but there’s an issue with an application I have in production. People use it heavily during the day, there’s a problem and it needs urgent attention. Sometimes I spend my entire day trying to fix one issue and I have no idea what the problem is or what the solution will be. Sometimes I plan my day but it all gets scrambled by unplanned events and errors.

There are times I’m required to build something I’ve never built and have to Google so much. Thanks to stack overflow I get a lot of helpful information. But it’s not just so easy to put them together or create something from scratch after you get the understanding from the Internet.

Though I enjoy programming I am always faced with the uncertainties it comes with. The lamentation of unsatisfied clients who feel you should be able to deliver in days. There’s pressure coming at me from different angles. Sometimes it gets to me and I can’t even think clearly.

But other times, I’m so cool and calm I just tell everyone to calm down it’ll be alright even though I don’t know how it’s gonna be. Sometimes I’m so much at peace while the testing team and my boss feel hassled. This is the part I want to talk to you about.

How do I do it?

For starters, I don’t! Yes, I don’t do it. When I try to make everything work, it never does. When I try to figure out everything and try so hard to avoid mistakes, I run into them even more. I hear you say “get to the main point dude”. Relax!

Spirit, Soul, Body and Mind

This is how it happens: I get my spirit connected to divinity by means of praying and meditating on the Word of God. I do that early in the morning and get my spirit lifted. The spirit is you! it’s more like the leader among the four. It’s the core.

While I’m at it, I listen to spiritual songs, inspiring songs, encouraging songs. I’m feeding my soul. My emotions are being filled with positivity. I become so calm I literally smile when someone tries to piss me off. I’m just so cool nothing can knock me off my coolness. Most of these songs are songs that make me see how great God is compared to all the seemingly great problems I have. That makes me rest assured that it is going to be all right. And besides, I have evidence, I have testimonies. There’s been so many times I felt I could never overcome the issues I was facing but a simple prayer will suddenly shine a light in my path and make everything clear.

I also exercise. This stresses my body in a good way and makes me resistant to fatigue. So I’m able to have a sound mind and an active body to work. The body is the housing of you, you need to take care of it.

Now let’s talk about the mind. The mind is like the gateway, the gray area among the other three parts. All the other things I’ve spoken about, go through the mind before getting to the spirit and soul. I also make sure I feed my mind with knowledge and skill. The more I get to know, the more I can handle diverse issues.

If it works, why do I still experience pressure and stress sometimes?

Well, it works! but I’m still growing, maturing. Sometimes I stray and try to fix everything by myself. I try to make maximum use of my time by cutting off the very things that stabilize me and make me face my challenges head-on without breaking down. So let’s go over a few things. You can forget all that you’ve read but remember these three things:

  1. Pray, meditate, connect with God, with the Holy Spirit.
  2. Listen to music (it has great effect on your emotions so choose the right ones)
  3. Exercise your body and brain (learn, read)

Now, it’s your turn to try it! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Handling pressure and stress”

Leave a Reply

